Skip to content

Moderately Gray Saturday

November 29, 2008

Everyone needs a Darth Vadar Christmas Stocking, no?

I found this little gem while shopping on Black Friday from the safety of my home (where I could also play Civ Rev, because I clearly haven’t played that enough). It got me thinking about things that you really should have if you’re a game designer – games that you’d be remiss not to own, to play and to know.

Here are four:

  • The Settlers of Catan. Amazon is presently listing it for $33 which includes free shipping.
  • Psychonauts. It’s important to remember that there are genres beyond the FPS, and to reward those who make games outside of that comfort zone.
  • Okami on the Wii. Game interaction has the potential to be so much more than “Press X.”
  • Bohnanza. This game has such an odd pattern, but it’s incredibly fun to play, and great in a social environment.

My husband actually went out and attempted to get a Wii Fit from Sam’s Club. Though he was way up there in the line, he wasn’t close enough to get the very few they had in stock.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2008 9:19 pm

    A Darth Vader stocking and yet you’ve never seen Star Wars? I admire the devotion to geekdom.

    Also, I ❤ Psychonauts. Best FMV ever right here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4FZ57gwroUQ

  2. December 1, 2008 11:40 am

    Really, a Vader stocking should say something like “Luke… I feel your presents” on it.

Leave a comment