Skip to content

At GDC

March 23, 2009

After a five-day journey across the country, I’ve arrived in San Francisco. GDC is like homecoming week for game developers. The first thing that most developers do is seek out other developers. Somehow, less than 1 minute into the convention center, I run into Ian Schreiber. Together, we manage to find Dan Cook, but it more or less stops at that. It’s early. I’ll see everyone tomorrow morning.

If you’re in town, we generally collect on the 3rd floor of the convention center around 8:30 straight off the escalators.

Here are a couple photos from the trip.

Restaurant in AZ.

Restaurant in AZ.

Red rocks in NM

Red rocks in NM

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 6:56 am

    Wow, that the road trip must be a fun experience in and of itself. To sandwich a great conference in between seems almost too good to be true.

    I was really hoping to get to GDC myself but my company decided to only send two people this year (neither of which is me obviously). I’m really grateful that I will be able to go to GDX as an alternative. However, I imagine that the road trip across Georgia won’t yield quite as many scenery photo ops.

    • March 23, 2009 8:54 am

      Depending on where you’re coming from, I assume you can get many great pictures of tall pine trees. 🙂

  2. March 25, 2009 5:22 pm

    Does that food place have ‘Dead Chicken’ written on it’s sign?

    I mean, it’s true – we eat dead chicken. But you don’t usually hear it so literally refered to?

  3. March 30, 2009 8:49 am

    Brenda, I was in your first session of Day 1. The non digital game ideas. Had a really great time and am looking forward to the pdf version. What do I need to do to get that pdf?

  4. tiffanny varga permalink
    March 30, 2009 3:22 pm

    hi brenda nice rustic photo of AZ there 🙂 do you remember me? we worked on d&d together 🙂 glad i stumbled upon your blog!

  5. April 1, 2009 2:06 am

    Hi Brenda, I was at the “100 questions…” session last friday and I would like to thank you for that wonderful session. I was entertained, enlightened, as well as inspired greatly by your presentation. I’m looking forward to next year’s GDC and perhaps getting to talk to you in person. Also, I would like to thank you for the idea of creating a board game as a kind of prototype for a computer game. That’s such a simple yet awesome idea.

    Thanks again,

    -zenas

  6. April 8, 2009 10:39 am

    Hey Brenda, I was also at the 100 questions session and I would also like to give my thanks. I actually introduced myself to you (I was the high school student who you told to email you).
    I had a question for you then.

    I’m in high school right now, 17, and I currently make small schockwave and flash games. I want to go to a college and major in game design. But what does the usual portfolio for a college application look like? What does one from a high school student look like?
    I’m kinda nervous because to be honest, my games aren’t as fun as the indie games I’ve played (though I am a one man team).

    • April 10, 2009 8:32 pm

      Hi George,

      Actually having games in your portfolio would be a leap over a great number of people. It depends on which college you’re going to. Some colleges require them for admission, others for scholarship and still others for both. I think that having a good, well-rounded portfolio would be an asset, but having an amazing game portfolio could be, too. I suggest contacting the college’s admissions department and asking them directly.

  7. October 13, 2012 4:01 pm

    Hey Brenda, sorry for the necro-post but I quite randomly came across this thread while searching something quite unrelated, saw that I had posted earlier, remember your talk, and was blown away by the synchronicity of it all. Here’s the skinny: I’m going to be making the cross country with some fellow devs for GDC 2013 in march. We will be heading from Philadelphia to San Fran about a week before the conference. Anyway, considering that you made a similar trip a few years ago, do you have any cool tips for our trip that will make for a great adventure? Thanks! 😀

    • January 23, 2013 5:36 pm

      Just seeing this now. Got caught in the spam somehow. Tips: make your reservations for overnight stays early. Stay at decent hotels (I recommend Holiday Inn Express). Use Yelp for restaurants. Don’t eat Mexican food in Nebraska.

  8. January 23, 2013 5:51 pm

    lol thanks. 😉 Are you presenting this year?

Leave a comment