Skip to content

Wizardry: Thanks for the Love

December 23, 2009

I am surprised by how many people still love and remember this series fondly and have yet to give up hope of its return. I have always loved it since I first played it in 1981, so I count myself among those people. I worked on the series for 18 years, though, so I have an obvious bias.

A few RPG outlets picked up my last post on the reasons I selected the ending I did for Wizardry 8, and even though it’s been 8 years since its release, it created a surprising flurry of traffic here as well as a number of emails asking me if I was going to make Wizardry 9. The answer to that question is multi-class but rests on a single answer: no. I can’t imagine a future in which I don’t eventually make another RPG. However, I am very happy making what I am making now and chose it for a reason over RPGs.  This isn’t the time for me to fight fight fight parry parry parry. Also, I don’t own the license anyway.

Ironically, however, I am also learning to code in C++ and am writing an RPG which will never see the light of day (seriously, and it shouldn’t). So, any latent RPG desires I might have are hidden in a sometimes error free compile. Other times, I invoke a segmentation fault. Mostly, I selected an RPG because I needed to work hard on the code and not on the design.

Regardless, this is where I wanted to go. Tolerate the level 1 coder statements:

// Set up story

printf( “\n\nThere is silence.” );
printf( “\n\nIt is a silence you don’t remember hearing before.” );
printf( “\n\nThere are objects, places and creatures that are quiet, but silence is an absolute.” );
printf( “\nIt is an absence of anything at all. It is pervasive, it is unpercussive,” );
printf( “\nand it is all around you.” );

// Allowing players to input their name

printf( “\n\nWho you are, where you are. Nothing seems very clear right now.” );
printf( “\n\nYou struggle to remember your name:  ” );

cin >> playerName1;

printf( “\nThe last thing you remember thinking was the impossibility of it all, that someone” );
printf( “\nwould just write the universe out of existence.” );
printf( “\n\nYou remember your friend turning to you and saying:”);
printf( “\n\n’%s? Is this it?'”, playerName1 );

printf( “\n\nThere were tears in his eyes. There were six of you then. Remembering,” );
printf( “\nyou start to cry in the darkness, and it breaks the silence. It is evident “);
printf( “\nthere is only one of you now.\n\n”);

And we all know that’s way too much text by today’s standards. Rewriting it for 2009, the DD would read: “Insert cutscene here.”

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Emmanuel permalink
    December 28, 2009 11:52 am

    I grew up with Wizardry on my Apple II, it is one of my most defining moments in games, and I still quote it at every job interview I get as a primary source of inspiration/passion. So… here’s some more love for you Brenda ^^

  2. January 4, 2010 5:44 pm

    And we all know that’s way too much text by today’s standards. Rewriting it for 2009, the DD would read: “Insert cutscene here.”

    Personally? I think the text is more evocative and powerful than any cut-scene would be able to pull off.

    I understand – I tend to skip big blocks of text these days when I play games, too. I’ve become lazy. But I think we’re losing something.

  3. Blastum permalink
    January 30, 2010 3:02 pm

    This gave me chills.

    Goodbye to the Major Daimyos. Goodbye to the small humanoids.

    Kandi tells me nothing…

  4. Vorpal Bunnies permalink
    March 14, 2010 4:17 pm

    had wizardry 1 on apple II+
    great game..
    ps: Trebor sux

  5. Creeping Coin permalink
    March 22, 2010 2:31 pm

    Also had Wizardry 1 on the Apple II+.
    Played it recently on an emulator, and it has lost nothing… But I’m so much more demanding of a new game! 😉

    Happy days..

    THE WIZARD IS
    *** OUT ***

  6. Makarov permalink
    December 19, 2010 7:29 pm

    Dear Brenda thank You and Sir-tech team for Wizardry! This is my the most favorite RPG for all times!
    Wizardry forever!

  7. Tal Shterzer permalink
    April 16, 2011 2:31 am

    I started playing Wizardry on the old Apple II. My dad was sitting at the keyboard, translating and explaining to me what was happening on the monitor (I was 8 years old and didn’t know much English at the time).
    The first three Wizardry games brought me and my dad close. It was our Saturday morning hobby.
    I just wanted to thank you for that.
    It’s been over 25 years since those moments and all I can say is that I wish my kids would hook up with me over Wizardry 9/10/11 for Saturday mornings.

    Again,

    THANKS 🙂

  8. June 19, 2011 5:05 am

    thanks so much Brenda for this wonderful game, you just wizards 🙂

  9. June 23, 2011 12:21 pm

    I’m a bit of a late starter, grew up with Wiz Gold as a child. But enjoyed it thoroughly and went on to wiz 8. Now I’m going back to the earlier series. I’m really proud of Wizardry as a game that has so many unique features (importing saves from earlier games, first of its kind to feature an anti-piracy code-based verifier from wiz IV onwards) etc. I wish games we play nowadays will develop the same appreciation for intellectual stimulation and well-crafted lore over graphical performance and other superfluous fancies.

    Well, I guess that’s what makes the Wiz series timeless classics. The game really engages the hearts of gamers without having to make explicit the fantasy world. Cheers and Kudos to the games and their designers.

    • Marshall R permalink
      May 9, 2012 4:53 am

      I remember picking up Proving Grounds from a rental store when I was just a little kid. The clerk told me it was too complicated for a young kid like me. So I was determined to prove him wrong. Many suspenseful and sometimes frustrated hours later I emerged with what would be one of my most loved and memorable gaming experiences ever.
      Thank you

  10. Marshall R permalink
    August 24, 2012 1:01 am

    Hi Brenda. My name is Marshall Rash. I know this space is reserved for subject appropriate comments but I don’t know how else to contact you. I’m a 30 year old novice writer and fan of your work. It would be nice to trade words with you via E-mail. Shoot me something if you have time. I’m familiar with its low supply while following a passion. Hallowed1983@yahoo.com

Leave a comment