Skip to content

Changing AGD’s Look?

July 30, 2010

I’m feeling the need for a change of scenery around here. In keeping with past changes, I figure I’ll ask how you feel about the new possible look first. Click the image to the right to see what I’m thinking. Your comments are appreciated.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 2:46 am

    Thumbs up. It feels a little less-cluttered, since the article is the only thing on the white, which isolates them, and there’s still plenty of room for all the sidebar widgets on the left if you want to keep them.

    Plus it looks cool– always a plus.

  2. July 30, 2010 3:04 am

    Thumbs Down. Sorry but even if the design is pretty good i think the grungie style is a bit outdated.
    Regards.
    Pierre

  3. Wyatt permalink
    July 30, 2010 3:06 am

    I think the new look is good, but please be mindful of how well it scales to different screen sizes and resolutions. The variety of devices is increasing, and peoples text-size preferences can vary widely, so accessibility is a real concern.

    Also, it’s not as important anymore, but how large is the new background image? Larger pages translate into longer page-loads/greater memory consumption/more bandwidth use.

  4. Joshua Diaz permalink
    July 30, 2010 3:21 am

    I like the article formatting significantly, but the background looks a little. . .gritty? It’s a great design but it feels like I should be looking at more screenshots. Then again, I only load the actual site for comments (RSS), so . . .

  5. July 30, 2010 3:22 am

    Agreed. It’s visually interesting and I find it easier to see the different elements. It leads the eye around the page.

  6. July 30, 2010 3:45 am

    It looks “grungy”.

  7. July 30, 2010 8:15 am

    I think it’s a little tricky to judge given the blank space on the left. If you’re reserving it for widgets and such, you might want to throw a few placeholders otherwise the uncluttered aspect that people are praising might prove ephemeral. On the other hand, if you’re planning to leave it blank, it seems like that’s wasted space. On the third hand, I’m normally an RSS reader, so my opinion of the design isn’t that important.

  8. Adrian Lopez permalink
    July 30, 2010 12:12 pm

    I don’t like the background image, nor do I like how the text area is shifted so far to the right and bottom of the page. In short, the background area is too large and draws too much attention to itself.

    BTW: Now that you’re working on changes to the site, how about having more regular updates? I care more about that than about the site’s appearance.

  9. dote permalink
    July 30, 2010 1:15 pm

    I’m not a big fan of the huge negative space on the left nor the background. While it looks awesome it’s a bit distracting. I do like the torn folder paper look, font, and colors (even the colors in the primary nav).

Leave a Reply

