Skip to content

Train Talk Up on GDC Vault

April 11, 2010

My talk on Train is now up in the GDC Vault: How I Dumped Electricity and Learned to Love Design. You need to have access to the GDC Vault in order to see it, and being logged in already when you click on the link above will take you directly there.

For those of you who are not aware, it was a fateful conversation around the breakfast table at Project Horseshoe with Steve Meretzky that made this whole talk happen.

Steve extracted a promise from me that morning thusly:

Steve: Are you going to talk about it?
Me: No.
Steve (loudly and with arms spread): You HAVE to talk about it!

So, I did at a little conference in a little room attended by about 30 people… and things just took off from there. I remain grateful for that push and the extraction of a promise to talk about it. That people cared about this game design experiment still touches me, and I remain so surprised and humbled by the response this talk got from the audience. They literally made me cry (which you can see in the video).

Again, if you were there, thank you so much. This remains the single most amazing moment in my whole career. I am so glad to be among you.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 3:37 pm

    All the accolades are deserved. I’m glad this game got the “proper” and “right” attention it deserved. (I also saw your GDC evaluations post – WAY TO GO!)

    Sheri

  2. Rob permalink
    April 11, 2010 5:42 pm

    Please put that up somewhere were everybody can see it, this doesn’t need to be behind a paywall.

    • April 12, 2010 5:59 pm

      GDC and Think Services have agreed to move it to the free section of the talks very soon. Thanks for asking, and thanks GDC, Think and Meggan Scavio.

  3. April 12, 2010 1:57 am

    Thanks Brenda (and Steve). It was a great talk.

  4. May 1, 2010 8:29 am

    Thank you for opening my mind wider. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Daily Pron Stash « GamePron

Leave a Reply

