Skip to content

The Art History of Games

November 18, 2009

The Art History of Games is a three-day public symposium in which members of the fields of game studies, art history and related areas of cultural studies gather to investigate games as an art form. Speakers include Ian Bogost, Brenda Brathwaite, Jesper Juul, Frank Lantz, Henry Lowood, Christiane Paul, John Romero, and more.

Also featured in the conference is the premiere of three commissioned art games, from Jason Rohrer, Tale of Tales, and Eric Zimmerman. The designers will exhibit their work and participate in the symposium.

Organized by Georgia Tech Digital Media and SCAD Atlanta, the symposium will be held Feb. 4-6 in the High Museum of Art’s Rich Auditorium on the campus of the Woodruff Arts Center, 1280 Peachtree St. N.E., in midtown Atlanta.

Register by January 5 for reduced rates.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 11:01 pm

    Oh, I really hope I can make it to this!

  2. Chris Pioli permalink
    November 20, 2009 3:08 am

    Sounds fantastic. I’ve always thought there was a good deal to discuss on this topic ever since taking my first art history class in college. I certainly wish I could find the time to go, but if I can’t, then I hope things go very well!

  3. November 22, 2009 12:58 am

    I think I’ll actually be able to make it now!

    (time to start getting down to business with my concepts) 🙂

Leave a Reply

