Skip to content

Brainy Gamer Podcast

November 9, 2009

John Sharp and I were recently interviewed for a Brainy Gamer podcast.

Had your fill of the “Are Games Art?” debate? This edition of the podcast, featuring an interview with veteran game designer Brenda Brathwaite and art historian John Sharp, takes the conversation in a different and, I hope, more useful direction. Focusing on Brenda’s remarkably poignant game Train, we discuss the intersection of art and game design and consider how a designer’s personal vision and game design skills dovetail in the conception and development of a new game.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 1:45 am

    Heya Brenda,
    My name’s Wolf, and I will now be stalking your blog after Michael’s podcast. I think I’ve heard of you before, or maybe you had been on his show before, I can’t remember…

    Anyway! I’m hoping to make it up to Atlanta in Feb. for the event. I’m from Nashville, but I’m going to school in Orlando and getting my Master’s in game design.

    Hopefully my youthful and impressionable mind can learn a thing or two from the blog, and/or the event.

    😛

    • November 11, 2009 7:35 am

      Hi Wolfgang,

      I am really looking forward to the conference. I think it’s going to be an amazing event.

  2. November 10, 2009 10:01 am

    Like I expressed to Michael, I’m more caught up in enjoying the novelty of people simply ignoring the question of ‘are they art’ debate. I did enjoy the podcast though and will be adding your blog to my own roll.

    • November 11, 2009 7:36 am

      I think virtually all the debate comes from the outside, really. We tend to polarize it when we say, “Of course they are!” as if all games are art (like all photographs are art or all painting are art). Art, as a term and a constraint, is a subjective thing. A painted wall may not be art. It depends on whether Bob the painter or Michelangelo painted it.

Leave a Reply

