Skip to content

Game Building Sunday

May 17, 2009

Today, I am building the final version of “Where my people come from”, the historical game about my family history. It covers the Cromwellian invasion of Ireland, the destruction of the Irish Catholic land-owning class, and the subsequent removal of many Irish to Barbados as slaves where descendants are known today as “red legs”, and the multiracial descendants as “red men”, a term that is considered a slur of sorts.

It is actually the first intentional game in the Mechanic is the Message series. Train just got a whole lot of attention. The first real first game in the series, Mommy’s Middle Passage Game , the one I made for my daughter, wasn’t originally going to be a part of the series, although it was certainly its start. Now that I’ve confused everyone…

irish1

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2009 10:17 am

    How are you building those meeples? Is that clay?

    • May 17, 2009 10:20 am

      They’re wood.

      • May 17, 2009 12:35 pm

        You have carved the wood? Wow, I would like to be able to do it πŸ™‚

      • May 17, 2009 1:07 pm

        No, I didn’t carve them. They were done on a lathe, and they’re my standard prototyping pieces that I’ve been using for a number of years. I buy them by the hundreds.

      • May 17, 2009 1:16 pm

        Interesting. Where do you buy them? I really could use some of them, but I can’t find such things in Italy 😦

      • May 18, 2009 7:31 am

        Hi Kurai,

        It’s craftparts.com. Best unintentional prototype site on the ‘net.

        brenda

  2. William B permalink
    May 18, 2009 1:14 am

    Do you want your line to be scrutinized as games? I know you are doing the message thing… I will probably do some of this myself if I become wealthy, but right now I am trying to sell to companies… but do you want your games rated on BGG with the likes of Agricola?

    PS – I am attending GenCon and ORIGINS – any chance if you are not in attendance you could let your co-author take a copy so that I can give it a try?

    I’m just having a hard time not removing the performance art from TRAIN sight unseen and want to experience it for myself.

    Thanks!

    • May 18, 2009 7:29 am

      Hi William,

      Since I am only making one of each, I wouldn’t expect them to be treated like commercial board games and rated on BBG and the like. I do know they are generating a great deal of discussion.

      The games were a design challenge to myself, more or less, to see if I could use game mechanics much like an artist uses paint to capture and express difficult emotions. I decided to make a series of them to better understand the process as a designer by covering a range of topics and a range of game dynamic styles. They weren’t created for publication like my other games were.

      I may be at Origins this year.

      • William Baldwin permalink
        May 20, 2009 4:20 am

        I’ll be there hocking a game or 2 and playing many more I am sure.

        Given the opportunity, I would love to give one a shot.

        I’m pretty much in the CABS room for the majority of the con, looking like Silent Bob and hanging with a red-haired lady named Heather.

        Hope to see you there!

  3. May 21, 2009 10:59 am

    Wow this is an interesting! I would like to play this with some of my friends πŸ™‚
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

