Skip to content

Site Overhaul – Comments Welcome

May 16, 2009

I feel the need to visually overhaul the site again. So, this message serves as your advance warning that Applied Game Design may look different next time you return.

Housekeeping that needs your input:

  • I’ve updated the links to include only regularly updated blogs. If your link is not there, you regularly update, and you are a game dev, please let me know. I’ll be glad to add you. Just leave a reply here.  If I removed you in this sweep, I still have your link. Please ping me when you’re back to regular posting.
  • As for Applied Game Design’s look, I am thinking of going to a format which shows only the most current post, but allows you to access previous posts via arrows. Do you strongly prefer all posts on a single long page as they are now? Do you have any other strong preferences or dislikes?

Now is the time to request things you wish were here, too.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2009 1:10 pm

    Do you strongly prefer all posts on a single long page as they are now?

    Yes, I do.

    To show only a single post at a time strikes me as bad interface design. It’s not like a Twitter box where you’re looking at short independent messages all posted by the same person. Post comments can include multiple authors and threads of conversation. Showing multiple posts per page just seems more natural, and in any case is much more common.

    As with any interface design decision, don’t do things differently from how everybody else does it unless you have a very good reason for it.

  2. May 16, 2009 8:08 pm

    Okay, I won’t do that, then.

    • Mark Sumerix permalink
      May 17, 2009 11:45 am

      Hi Brenda, I’d love to have my blog included as well, the address http://gamedever.blogspot.com. I’m a Systems Designer who is currently applying at a studio in Austin, Texas, and I am updating my blog more as well.

  3. May 17, 2009 5:00 am

    If you don’t want to have a very long page, though, you can still choose to show the complete first (or first two) post, and then to show only the excerpts of the following posts. I believe you’re going to need your own wordpress installation to do that, though.

    PS: I’m a game designer. Currently my blog is under heavy redesign (I used to write in Italian, but I’m going to switch to English to keep up with the game dev community), when it will be ready, I will be happy to ping you 😉

Leave a Reply

