Skip to content

Happy St. Patrick’s Day

March 17, 2009

I’m off to watch the Savannah St. Patrick’s Day parade with my family this morning, the second longest parade in the nation. It lasts about 4-5 hours, and in a town with as much Irish heritage as this one, it’s a great event.  Over 200,000 people attend the parade when it falls on a weekday, and on a weekend that number swells to 500,000. We even dye our many fountains green.

It’s also not a drunken, wild event (though I am sure that happens somewhere on River Street). It begins with Mass this morning at St. John the Baptist, and it’s much more a celebration of Irish heritage than anything else. I particularly enjoy the many, many bands that come from everywhere including Ireland.

After the parade, I will be beginning my annual migration to GDC. I drive coast to coast every year, and you can follow my updates via twitter if you want to see how absurd that is.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chris Pioli permalink
    March 17, 2009 11:24 pm

    I wish I was fortunate enough to have time to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day properly. The only festive thing I could manage was dressing up in green cargo pants and buttoned shirt.

    Good luck with the Game Design Improv session. I hope I’ll have the time to see it.

Leave a Reply

