Skip to content

+1 to Vacuuming skill?

March 12, 2009
by

I just saw this: Chore Wars.

It’s exactly what you might think from the name — level up your online character by doing household chores in real life.
 
I swear, add XP and a leaderboard and you can get people to do anything.
– Ian Schreiber
8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2009 6:37 pm

    That is hilarious. Though, I wonder how well it will survive.

  2. Akjosch permalink
    March 12, 2009 6:51 pm

    Dibs on “Darwinism Online”, the game about levelling up by jumping from really high bridges.

  3. josh g. permalink
    March 12, 2009 7:22 pm

    Add this to the list of tricks I want to try using to get high school math students to do their homework. Although I think I’m going to test out a Steam / XBox Live style achievement system first.

  4. Landon permalink
    March 12, 2009 8:07 pm

    ha we used this at our house to reward chores, and make sure everyone was doing their fair share to help out. It took about a year before we decided to change and do something else.

  5. Cyranix permalink
    March 14, 2009 12:26 am

    Jane McGonigal of Avant Game has a badge on her site for the game. Seems cool!

  6. March 15, 2009 8:12 pm

    I’d thought of this myself – I’d thought, wouldn’t it be better if the house was tidier and I went up a level, rather than killing 100 digital kobolds that don’t matter and the house is still messy?

    I’m both jelous and happy someone implemented it already! Thought I’m just straight happy someone else thought of it.

  7. March 15, 2009 8:16 pm

    …someone else thought of it as well, I mean.

Trackbacks

  1. WorldIV.com » The Game of Life

Leave a Reply

