Skip to content

The Global Game Jam

February 2, 2009

Is it Monday already?

This weekend, SCAD Savannah and SCAD Atlanta along with 51 other locations in 23 countries participated in the Global Game Jam. What an amazing experience!  You can play the games that were submitted on the site. There are also some games that still need to be uploaded from the ftp, so check back.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Scypher permalink
    February 2, 2009 3:59 pm

    Global Game Jam was incredible!

    I was so glad to be a part of it, especially at the Los Angeles station with so many talented people. And I’m also very glad to hear first word of GGJ from your and Ian’s blogs. I mean, I’d be wringing my neck if I didn’t know about this event until after all the 48-hour games start getting passed around.

    The game I made at GGJ was my first digital game and I honestly did not expect to get much produced in 48 hours, coming in with an “I’ll take what I can get” attitude. But I ended up teaming with phenomenal individuals and drew all the sprites and graphics for a finished game (!) with zero known bugs (!). I worked my butt off for 30 straight hours and then some, but in retrospect I couldn’t have spent my weekend any better way. Next year will be a blast.

    If anybody’s interested, please take a look:
    http://tinyurl.com/cdfvn6
    http://www.ultimatewalrus.com/games/lsl/lsl.zip

  2. February 3, 2009 11:25 am

    Yeah, I completely agree, it was absolutely amazing! The standard of talent was incredible. I was at London and my team made the Deep, check it here:

    http://globalgamejam.org/games/deep-0

  3. February 3, 2009 2:16 pm

    Some experiences in Game Jams seem pretty universal (in my experience, at least).

    People are always absolutely amazed at just how much they could do in a short period of time. No matter how inexperienced (or experienced), the energy of a Jam always seems to get people to exceed their own expectations.

    Quality of the final games doesn’t seem to correlate with anything. If I lined up three random Game Jam games and told you one was a high school team, one was a college team and one was made by experienced industry veterans, I bet you won’t be able to tell which is which. Jams are a great equalizer.

    And if you take the time to do a post-mortem, you’ll probably find at least a few lessons that can apply just as well to the management of AAA titles (particularly when it comes to development methodologies and scope control).

    Personally, I was blown away by all of the great games coming out of this. But I always am 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Cobertura en los medios | Game Jam Cordoba

Leave a Reply

