Skip to content

Christmas d10

December 7, 2008

My top 10 recommended games for this Christmas are:

  1. Civilization Revolution – this can’t possibly be a surprise.
  2. Ticket to Ride – great game that everyone in the whole family will like.
  3. Puerto Rico – great game that people like me will like.
  4. Braid (Xbox Live Arcade) – it’s hard to describe this without giving part of it away.
  5. Rock Band – socializing with noise.
  6. Bohnanza – one of my analog favorites this year.
  7. Hare & Tortoise – a seriously good game for kids that’s actually enjoyable by adults, too.
  8. The Orange Box – three games for under $20 including Portal and Team Fortress 2.
  9. Incan Gold – easy to understand and wonderful game for lots of players.
  10. Carcassonne – a great analog starter game for anyone interested in trying games without electricity.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2008 12:00 pm

    If you’re going to mention Carcassonne and Puerto Rico, may as well add Settlers of Catan to the list. I always think of Settlers as the gateway into eurogaming, since it is basically the game that launched the explosion of those kinds of games here in the US.

    Add amusement that of the ten games listed, only one was released this year 🙂

  2. December 10, 2008 6:22 pm

    Yeah, that is kind of funny. I wasn’t looking for 10 games from this year, but rather fantasizing about what I’d want under my tree (if I didn’t already have all of these, that is).

  3. December 11, 2008 3:58 pm

    I would change the Orange Box for the Valve Complete Pack for $99. It’s really complete, and it’s a quite fair pricing (not to say that it’s cheap!) 🙂

  4. Stephanie permalink
    December 24, 2008 12:41 am

    I was just playing Bohnanza this evening, it is an awesome game!

  5. January 4, 2009 10:23 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation on Hare & Tortoise. I put this under the tree for my 10-year-old and we ended up playing a couple of multi-generational games of it (myself, my kids, and my parents) over the holidays. It’s a terrific game that the whole family can enjoy and is enjoying.

    Also, thanks for Challenges for Game Designers — I picked this up for myself just before Christmas as an early gift to myself. Best to you in 2009.

Leave a Reply

