Skip to content

Catching Up

November 26, 2008

As I’ve said before (some where at some time), being a Chair in a college is a whole lot like being a lead in the game industry. The fall quarter, or at least this fall quarter, represented crunch in which I accomplished a whole lot of things while working 12+ hour days. I now have 6 weeks more or less off, so I shouldn’t complain.

The high speed catch up:

  • Attended Project Horseshoe and has an amazing time with some amazing folks. I plan to post more on this soon.
  • Played Agricola ZMG 7026, Bang Dodge City Expansionand Rio Grande Games Puerto Rico a bunch of times. There are probably another dozen games in there that I didn’t enjoy as much.
  • Played Sid Meier’s Civilization Revolution so much that I actually banned it so I could work. If you have not played it, you simply must order this game for Christmas.
  • Got pneumonia.
  • While trapped recuperating from pneumonia, took Civ Rev back and won a domination victory with Gandhi on Deity level. I feel a tiny bit guilty about that.
  • Attended and spoke at VG Expo.

Now, we resume what passes for my regular posting schedule.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. David permalink
    November 26, 2008 6:57 pm

    I’m in the same boat as you with CivRev. Picked up a copy on the weekend after finally playing the demo that’d been sitting on my Xbox harddrive for ages. I knew it was a game to buy when the advisor’s announcement of “only 10 turns left in this demo version” was met by cries of anguish on my part. I’ve been playing one game a night after work each day this week, but I don’t know how long I can survive on the reduced sleep. šŸ™‚

    Do you have any experience with CivIV:Colonization? I played the original quite a bit back in highschool, and I’m wondering if it’s worth shelling out for an updated version.

  2. November 26, 2008 7:18 pm

    All I’m gonna say is that it’s good to have you back, Brenda!

  3. November 26, 2008 8:09 pm

    @David – I’ve played all the past Civs, but haven’t enjoyed any as much as this one.

    @Michael – Thanks!

  4. November 27, 2008 11:34 pm

    Welcome back! I was wondering where you ran off to hide!!!

Leave a Reply

