Skip to content

The Parallels Between Lead and Chair

October 15, 2008

In Spring 2008, I was invited to become Chair of the Interactive Design and Game Development Department here at the Savannah College of Art and Design. The parallels (and hours) between Lead Designer and Chair of a department are astonishing. One ships games, the other ships students and a designs a sandbox game (termed “a curriculum”) in which players (termed “students”) can build the right collection of assets and resources (termed “courses” and “a portfolio”) to take them toward their goals of entering the game industry.

I tell you all this to say that I just finished the fall quarter crunch.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2008 12:20 pm

    As a student (“player”) I’ve noticed this from the other side of the system. Especially when scratching my head to figure out how the system really works.

    Anyways this is great for those trying to improve education through computers and game design principles, because the parallels indicate the principles should apply.

  2. October 15, 2008 6:07 pm

    Reminds me of a time when I was playing The Sims 2, and I bought my Sim-family a game console with a copy of The Sims 2, and my Sim was playing a Sim game, and I had to wonder: does this Sim realize that he’s just a player in my game, or does he think he’s playing his own game?

    So now I wonder, do students realize they are tokens in your game, or do they still think they are each their own first-person avatar in their own private games? (Or can you have both, playing several games simultaneously where one affects the other?)

  3. October 16, 2008 12:41 pm

    I think it’s like the Neverending Story. Each person has their own first-person experience comprised of the action of others in their own first-person experiences.

Leave a Reply

