Skip to content

Yard Sales and Games

July 19, 2008

Because I am an idiot, I had a yard sale this morning which consisted of 40 metric tonloads of children’s clothing. You may ask what this has to do with game design. The answer? Nothing.

Since i live in Savannah, this meant that I had the opportunity to roast as the rising sun baked me and two of my friends as we sat there in the front yard greeting the few people who were not smart enough to go to Tybee Island. There’s a great beach there where I am sure it’s cool.

Anyway, the whole process reminded me of one of my guilty Saturday morning pleasures – going to yard sales in search of obscure board games. My prize find to date is a sealed 25th anniversary edition of Risk which I purchased for $2 and sold on eBay for $110. My humblest moment was finding one of my games for sale for 25 cents.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2008 7:40 pm

    “My humblest moment was finding one of my games for sale for 25 cents.”
    That’s not good for your ego

  2. July 19, 2008 9:20 pm

    Why stop at board games? I’ve added quite a few video games to my collection through rare finds at yard sales, etc.

Leave a Reply

