Skip to content

Sunday Musings

June 8, 2008

I had the oddest dream last night – I was starting a new job in which I would be designing catalogs and other products for an advertising company. The company was located in Lowville, NY, and in the dream it was even made clear to me why it could be located there: their clients were everywhere. So, where they were located didn’t matter much, and they liked the quality of life. I didn’t ask how they liked the quantity of snow, and having grown up in northern NY, I’m qualified to ask that question.

This photo here is from January 2004 and is not digitally altered:

Northern NY Snow

In the dream, I was scheduled to start my job the next day, but the night before, I was having incredible second thoughts: it had nothing to do with games. Nothing at all. I was wracked with all these thoughts of stupidity: why did I take this job? What the hell was I thinking? How was I going to tell them that I’d changed my mind, not because of the snow, but because there were no games?

A note on that picture – I still don’t like snow. I particularly don’t like driving in it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    June 8, 2008 3:08 pm

    Wow, that dream is interesting. I’ve never had snow dreams before. But unless I knew more about your values, your personality, and your fears I wouldn’t know how to interpret that dream. Ultimately, the only person that can interpret your dream is you! Coincidentally, I just watched Paprika last night.

    Advertising and catalogs, snow as far as the eye can see, deep regrets… in the dream what made you take the job in the first place? Then ask yourself, what would you regret about doing work in catalogs and advertising? Then find out if any of these things represent some feelings you might have about things happening in your life. For instance, you mentioned you have a new consulting gig, right? Well, maybe it relates to that.

    I dream a lot, too. Sometimes the dreams are horrific, and sometimes the dreams are so great I don’t want to leave. Some of the imaginary places from within my dreams become persistent and actually return in later dreams. I’ve got a whole archipelago in my mind right now, which I hope to create eventually using modeling software or Second Life or something.

    Good luck with your dreams, Brenda.

  2. June 9, 2008 12:14 pm

    Wow!

    Did you take that picture? How high was the snowbank, 12 feet? What in the world moves that much snow?

    I’m not big on dream interpretation but I would take this dream as a sanity check. It is a way that your subconscious mind is trying to work out something bugging you.

  3. June 9, 2008 5:27 pm

    The snow wasn’t actually a part of the dream. However, any time I ever consider moving back to northern NY, I think for three seconds and remember the snow.

    As for how you plow that, you do to or three runs. You plow the bottom, and the stuff falls from up top. Then, you plow it again.

    You can find more images of life in NNY at http://www.highmarketsports.com/gallery.htm

Leave a Reply

