Skip to content

Prototype of Game 3 of 6

May 12, 2008

I’m making six non-digital games over the summer, and while working on something completely unrelated, I kept thinking about how I would prototype this one game. By the time I finished working, the idea seemed complete enough that I asked my husband to play it with me. Here you go:
Game 3 of 6

This is a shot of a finished game, and it actually turned out way better than I would have hoped for on the first iteration. As you can probably tell, it’s a game based on territorial acquisition. It has several stages of play, and succeeded in getting across the dynamic I was hoping for. I was really pretty surprised with how well this one worked out.

If you’ve never done paper prototyping, I encourage you to give it a try. If the game is even remotely complicated (add a resource, and it can become that way), paper prototyping usually results in about 10 unfinished games before the first play-until-the-end prototype arrives. As an example, late last week, I was in Columbus, Ohio at a conference and played game 1 of 6 with Ian Schreiber. We tried two iterations and never finished either. For that game, I am on iteration #5 now.

When all the games are done, I’ll post more on them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2008 3:27 pm

    As a note, what you’re looking at there is still in prototype stage. When I said, “finished game”, I was referring to the state of play, not the state of the game itself.

Trackbacks

  1. “Where my people come from” final game progress « Applied Game Design

Leave a Reply

