Skip to content

Jeff McNab’s “The Peon” Featured on Metaplace

May 8, 2008

When one of my game design students (for a few more weeks, anyways) is featured on the front page of Metaplace, it makes me smile. Over the last couple of years, a core group of students has begun to study game design with me here at the Savannah College of Art and Design, and Jeff was among the first to do so. So, it is with mentor-ish pride that I post this.

The Peon

How long did it take you to make this world?

While I haven’t kept good notes on exact figures, I would guess that it’s somewhere between 35 and 50 hours. The majority of it was spent on art assets, since I’ve been hand painting most of them. For instance, I spent about 12 hours of time creating the player sprite because of the various angles he needs to face. I would say I’ve spent about 60% of the time on art assets, with 30% on scripting and learning various Metaplace functionalities and the last 10% on pre-production, a.k.a. thinking and writing.

Congrats, Jeff.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

