Skip to content

BioWare Visit (And The Other Side of the Speaking Fence)

May 2, 2008

Rich Vogel, co-studio director for BioWare Austin, is en route to the Savannah College of Art and Design, and will be here on Monday. He’s going to be speaking informally with students, checking out some of their work, enjoying our infamous southern hospitality, and ultimately delivering a talk on building an MMO from the ground up.

I’m looking forward to visiting with a fellow developer quite a bit, and also listening to his talk. One of the great benefits of inviting speakers, particularly speakers of Rich’s caliber, is the opportunity to suggest possible topics if the speaker requests it. So, Rich’s talk will be on building an MMO from the ground up, and he’s truly one of the very few who is capable of discussing this topic. Suffice to say that this lecture is easily GDC-level material.

An interesting side note, and with the tremendous assistance of my assistant Kathy, I’ve been handling all the random things that you have to do when you bring people in to speak (by “I’ve been…” I mean I’ve done 20% and Kathy’s done 80%). The irony is that while I’ve certainly been the cause of these random things about 50 times, I’ve never actually been on the other side. I promise to give much respect to those individuals who invite me to speak in the future.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Phill Wessels permalink
    May 2, 2008 11:56 pm

    Wow, that sounds awesome. I really regret that my school won’t even have such classes for developers to visit!

    It would be great if sessions like this could be recorded and posted online somewhere. Then again, how many people want to bother with recording devices or taking notes when they’d rather be focusing on getting as much as possible out of the experience?

    Then again, I’m the kind of person who would take notes anyway. haha

  2. May 4, 2008 9:09 am

    I second that! Let us know if you hear of them posting anything, I’d love to watch/hear it!

Leave a Reply

