Skip to content

Catching Up

April 14, 2008

I’ve just returned from GDX in Atlanta. What an excellent conference! For those of you who have never had the benefit of attending a small conference (up to 600 people, I’d say), I highly encourage you to do so. The opportunity to have extended conversations with other developers is not to be missed. At this conference, I particularly enjoyed talking with Ian Bogost (who just received tenure at GA Tech), Greg Costikyan, and Elan Lee. Honestly, it’s hard to narrow it down. There were so many good speakers at this conference.

We also had an opportunity to play a lot of games at the conference thanks to my good friend Ian Schreiber who, in perfect geek form, brought at least 4 games with him. My favorites were Hey, That’s My Fish!, Dragon Parade and Notre Dame.

At the conference, I presented my epic lecture (it was epic if you were the one who actually had to put it together, trust me) titled 100 questions, 97 answers, 56 minutes on 300 slides. I used all the questions that you were kind enough to post earlier, and in the weeks to come, I’ll be posting the questions and those answers here. For me, the highlight of that talk was that I actually managed to do it in an hour.

In other news, I’ve settled into my new gig as Chair of the Interactive Design and Game Development department here at the Savannah College of Art and Design. Like starting any new gig, there was a very un-Valve like learning curve, but so far, so good. I’ve discovered that being a lead in the game industry is a whole lot like being Chair of a department. Namely, it’s your job to allow great people around you the opportunity to be great in their specific areas of interest.

Lastly, I’m back on my regular posting schedule now.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2008 10:16 am

    Congratulations on another great conference!

    I was looking forward to GDX and seeing the industry leaders from all over the country, but alas, my work wouldn’t let me. I was away for the week on a business trip.

    I certainly wish I listened to all those great talks, and still wonder if there’s anyway to get the recordings?

    Welcome back to normal schedule.

  2. April 14, 2008 4:24 pm

    Ah, Notre Dame! What did I tell you 🙂 It’s a great game. I hope you’ll be able to get it for SCAD, too.

  3. Goldfile permalink
    April 15, 2008 11:44 am

    Will you be posting your 100 questions, 97 answers, 56 minutes on 300 slides anywhere?

  4. April 15, 2008 8:37 pm

    I will be posting them, probably in batches of 5. I’ll start once I catch up from the wall of email that I built up during the course of the conference.

  5. April 17, 2008 4:31 pm

    I agree completely; smaller conferences have a much different feel.

    As an indie MMO developer, I really enjoyed attending the Indie MMO Game Developer’s Conference (http://www.imgdc.com/) recently. It was a really small conference, and it’s great to see a lot of enthusiastic people. It’s quite different from the larger conferences, where you miss people and most of us prefer to complain about the industry. 🙂 The indies also have that passion that comes from not being ground down yet; they also tend to appreciate what a smaller game like Meridian 59 has had to do to survive more than the developers on larger projects, who often look down their nose and don’t understand the constant, epic struggle a small-scale game administrator has to go through.

Leave a Reply

