Skip to content

Games That Make Me Feel Good

March 29, 2008

I was trying to find a particular game , and since it wasn’t where the usual suspects are stored, I had to go to the garage and unbox some of “the archives”. These are games that I have kept year to year knowing that I’ll play them again at some point.

Here’s what I kept out yesterday:

  • X-Com UFO Defense
  • Grim Fandango
5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2008 8:11 am

    oooo! I love both of those games. I haven’t played X-Com in ages….

  2. March 31, 2008 9:46 pm

    Tetris, Guitar Hero, Mario, Katamari Damacy – The purity of gameplay in these games make them enjoyable and accessible, leaving me with a ‘good’ feeling.

  3. March 31, 2008 11:28 pm

    As I mentioned in class last quarter, I still play Full Throttle once a year… despite the fact that I have every line of it memorized.

    Probably the one game that’s always made me feel good is Golden Axe. Been playing that since I was 4, so I kind of squealed with joy when I saw the new screenshots from “Beast Rider” a couple months ago.

  4. April 1, 2008 4:28 pm

    When I picked MTG back up I felt really happy, now that I started attending FNM(friday night magic) I feel even better. My skills have suffered from my absence, my stats for the latest event was 1 win, 6 losses and 1 tie but I felt really good anyway.

    In terms of video games I really, really miss Tribes. You have to know tricks to log onto the Tribes 2 server and there isn’t anyone there so you can basically fight against bots. I miss the good ol’ days where I’d come home and log on to a server with several rooms full of players. I guess that is the trouble with games that are only fun with online multiplayer. They get old and no one wants to play them… or their servers get shut down.

    Unreal Tournament is great, so is Socom, CoD4, and Rainbow Six: Vegas but none of them can give me the satisfaction that Tribes/Tribes 2 provided me with. I wish Tribes could give me that good feeling again…. I know I’m not alone.

    I wonder which, if any, digital games will remain classics 100 years into the future. Tetris, Super Mario Brothers, Sim City and Civilization come to mind immediately. But will they be able enjoy long term success like Poker, Chess and GO?

  5. April 2, 2008 12:56 pm

    I love Grim Fandango. That one is still in my garage too.

Leave a Reply

