Skip to content

GDC Day 3 – Developers as Pikmin

February 21, 2008

You can’t make this up:

  • After GDC is done for the day, I have to go to the Women In Games International Mixer (WIGI), so I take 5 students with me. Ultimately, we’re all going out to dinner with two industry designers.
  • After the WIGI mixer, I tell my students that I need to pitstop briefly at another industry gathering just so I can say hi to some friends. I say “hi,” say I’m going to dinner at the Hyatt… and 15+ game developers say, “Sounds good. Can we get reservations for more?”
  • By the time we get to the Hyatt, we have 20+ game developers in this group from all the major companies from Bioware to Ready at Dawn to Rockstar.
  • Before we can order our meal, one of us has posted our location on a forum, so now others are joining us. We hit 25+ before we even order.
  • My students – and hats off to ’em, man – didn’t fanboy externally once, though I’m fairly sure they’re lying awake somewhere right now thinking, “How did that just happen?”

Amazing evening. I’ll post some pics once I receive them, and I’ll post more on the day after the Game Design Challenge – tomorrow at 5:30.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2008 6:01 am

    I just have to say that I remember being a Pikmin. Did they follow your every move as well as we did?

  2. February 21, 2008 9:45 am

    No. They had way better AI.

  3. February 21, 2008 9:46 am

    Well, they probably grokked the Moscone level long ago. I’m sure the path nodes are well placed.

  4. February 21, 2008 1:18 pm

    Touche my friend.

  5. February 21, 2008 10:05 pm

    Between the two of you (David and Brenda) – you’ve been whetting my appetite all week. I can’t wait to get into GDC tomorrow! (I’m in SF right now, even – was just waiting for that Student Pass…)

  6. February 22, 2008 12:37 am

    Very cool! Hopefully they got some great insight into the industry from that little (err, big) gathering! At the minimum, that was a really sweet pot of ‘destroy all developers’ points!!! :p

  7. James Caskey permalink
    February 22, 2008 1:21 am

    That alone might have been worth GDC’s ticket price…

Leave a Reply

