Skip to content

GDC Prep: Twitter-esque

February 13, 2008

Pre-GDC, from a game developer’s perspective:

  • Leave tomorrow at 3.
  • Packing: Have not packed any personal items; all tech is packed.
  • Presentations: Game Design Challenge is done, but will be tweaked en route. IGDA prep is done.
  • Schedule: Key meetings all booked and confirmed.
  • Parties: Yes.
  • Yearly Developer Haircut: Yes. It’s short. I need to update my pic.
  • Most Looking Forward To: Noah Falstein’s talk with Sid Meier.
  • Most Excited About: Game Design Challenge.
  • Most Terrified Of: See above.
  • Trip: Finished route and booked rooms. I do not fly, so I actually drive to GDC from Savannah every year.
  • Why?
    • Wind sheer / near crash = 1998
    • Bad flight = 2001
    • 2001= done
    • Yes, I enjoy the drive (Bayou, San Antonio, Phoenix, San Fran)
    • No, I do not miss flying (from news reports, I may get there faster anyway)
    • 3-4 days
3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2008 12:27 am

    I’d prefer to drive rather than fly as well. It’s just like the difference between taking the Greyhound and flying for me. I’d rather take the Greyhound because it gives more of a sense of transition. Where as flying, there really isn’t much of a transition.

    And I enjoy being out on the road travelling. 🙂

    Good luck at GDC!

  2. February 13, 2008 11:54 am

    You’ve got quite the insane pre-GDC schedule, mine isn’t near as hectic, though I only live about 45 minutes away from the event center. I’m really looking forward to Noah’s interview of Sid as well, I work directly with Noah right now so he’s been telling me a bit about his preparation for the talk, it should be a great session. 🙂

    Good luck in the Game Design Challenge.

  3. February 14, 2008 1:20 am

    Wow, that’s quite a drive. I’ll keep an eye out for you from above.

    That is, if my jet doesn’t hit a wind sheer and crash…

Leave a Reply

