Skip to content

How to Pack 3 Weeks into 3 Days

February 11, 2008

GDC is my favorite professional event. It also nearly kills me, starting with this week, the week leading up to GDC. I’ll be leaving for San Francisco on Thursday which leaves me precious little time to get my stuff together for the conference.

GDC is the time when:

  • I meet with my existing and potential clients
  • I meet with people who are exploring the same stuff I’m exploring
  • I usually speak on some panel, lecture or another
  • The one time a year when I connect with my industry
  • I do random press stuff
  • I attend a lot of parties (and I don’t even drink, so it’s not nearly as wild as you might think… or maybe it is, but I just remember it all)

How I plan to keep posting something everyday is beyond me, but I’m going to give it a shot.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2008 10:04 pm

    It’s unfortunate that I’ll be missing GDC (tickets were just too expensive and on too short a notice for me to get ahold of one), even though I’m a 10-minute drive from San Francisco (I’m right across the Bay). Keep us up-to-date on how it goes!

  2. February 11, 2008 10:15 pm

    Jesse – bear in mind that a lot of the networking happens outside of GDC proper. If you’re in the area, come over to the Marriott. Lots of devs gather there (or they allegedly try to). We’re still getting our post-Fairmont act together.

  3. February 12, 2008 12:26 am

    Yeah. I continually ponder where this drinking only Dr. Pepper thing is going to take me at the GDC. Being the odd ball that rarely ever drinks makes for a lot of repetitiveness. I wonder how many times I’ll say “No thanks! But you can grab me a Dr. Pepper” while I’m out. πŸ˜‰

  4. gmunster permalink
    February 12, 2008 3:20 am

    Yeah, I’m also hoping to update nightly on my own blog about the first time experience at GDC from the eyes and ears of a student. I think it’ll be nice to kind of journal what I’ve learned about with the conference, networking, and the industry in general for people like me that couldn’t go to GDC this year. So I’ll wish us both luck in keeping on track with that!

  5. February 12, 2008 3:50 am

    Brenda, I also just found out that I was invited to the IGDA party. I need to check to see if there’s an RSVP on that, Either way, I’ll be sure to meet up at the Marriott, I end up in SF business district almost every day for work as it is.

  6. February 12, 2008 8:35 am

    @Jesse: there are plenty of devs who don’t drink alcohol. Don’t sweat it.

  7. February 12, 2008 12:13 pm

    Heh, since I don’t drink beer or wine (shockingly) I might be off the drink at GDC. Lack of cider or spirits will make myself drown in fizzy drinks πŸ™‚

  8. February 13, 2008 12:16 am

    @Andrew – with your “AA” icon, you should be good to go. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

