Skip to content

30% Tax Credit for Game Companies?

February 7, 2008

The state of Georgia is dead serious about luring game companies here and has backed that up with a massive tax break that’s currently in bill form before the house. They already give a 15% tax break, but the new bill proposes to take that to 25% with a 5% bonus if you use the GA state Film, TV and Digital Media logo in or on your packaging.

There are already a lot of game companies here, including White Wolf, CCP, Gametap, Cartoon Network and dozens more smaller companies. The state is also home to Turner and CNN. All in all, it has a pretty strong media base to begin with.

When I considered moving to the west coast a couple years back, I remember feeling intense sticker shock when I explored the various housing options available to us – $600K, $700K, $800K +… Here on the east coast, I have my choice of houses for under $200K. [Edit: the south east coast, that is…]

Feel free to shoot me an email, and I’ll be glad to connect you with Asante Bradford, the guy who’s sole job it is to work with developers and publishers interested in relocating. My contact info is my first initial at my whole name dot com.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2008 8:43 pm

    Hmmm, maybe in YOUR neck of the east coast!

  2. February 7, 2008 11:23 pm

    RIIIIIiiiiiight. Boston and NY do not qualify (and parts of DC).

  3. February 8, 2008 1:58 pm

    I was about to say. 200k get you a whole lot of nothing in Cambridge.

  4. February 9, 2008 3:37 am

    Know of any fancy deals like that on the West Coast, by chance?

  5. February 9, 2008 7:31 am

    @Jesse – There are some other states which offer breaks like this, but only two that offer them at this level. That said, I don’t know what those two are.

Leave a Reply

