Skip to content

I’m Running: IGDA Board of Directors

February 4, 2008

For those of you who may not have seen this, elections are currently underway for IGDA Board Membership. As a long-time game developer (26 years now), IGDA fan, and IGDA member, I decided to run for one of these spots. You can see all candidates here. My official candidate statement is reproduced below.

My Statement:

As a game designer, I feel privileged to have made this my career for the last 26 years. I can’t think of anything else I’d rather do. Since 1982, I’ve worked at a variety of developers and publishers, and have been a contractor on MMOs, AAA titles, serious games, casual games and most recently, Facebook games. Now, I continue my work as a contract game designer while teaching the next generation of game designers at the Savannah College of Art and Design. I have also begun working with high school educators to use game design as a means to motivate and educate at-risk youth.

My goals for the IGDA are based on this experience as a game designer:

  • To know my audience: To advocate equally for the gaming industry as a whole, from the indie developers to the AAA studios. Our industry is so much larger than the average person sees. From the two-person crew working on the next casual title to the mobile devs to those exploring game development on new platforms like Facebook, the IGDA exists to serve all these individuals, and as a member of the board, I will make it my priority to find out how the IGDA can best serve all these groups.
  • To balance resources: To understand the needs of our growing industry and work to bridge the occasionally tense gap between industry and academia so that we may best prepare students to meet the industry’s needs, in terms of employment, research, mentorship programs and mutual projects. It is my hope that my unique role as a practicing industry vet in academia will allow me to build the necessary bridges.
  • To provide useful feedback: To make certain that the IGDA, in all its activities, genuinely affects the lives of developers in a positive way based on the inputs of all those members, and that the feedback is properly communicated to those members. Ultimately, I hope to hear, “Where do I join?” not “Why would I join?”

The IGDA has been good to me and to other developers, and it is this that drives my desire to give back. It advocates on controversial issues, provide a voice of sanity in a sea of calamity, and stand behind developers on issues ranging from censorship to quality of life. It would be a tremendous and humbling honor to be a part of this organization.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2008 6:15 pm

    Damn my student membership…apart from the whole scholarship thing, hehe. I’d be able to vote otherwise, and will be doing so next year I bet.

    The board is an interesting thing – no specific positions, as such, but a general board, with 3 year seats. I wonder sometimes what they get up to – since I joined in May, I’ve not heard a great deal of direct news of board activities. I am sure they’re doing *something*, but it’s always hard to tell exactly what that something is (I note a few entries want to increase the communication – I can only agree). They make the organisation turn I guess, and grease the wheels, heh.

    Hope you get on, if only from your willingness to communicate here 😀 which is one of the most important traits to have that I can see for board members. Some other great candidates though, I’m glad people think it is something really worthwhile doing and a lot of people want to go for it.

    One odd thing about the submissions – there are very few links to more info about a person. I see 3 entries with them – I’d have thought more would add links to personal sites/biographies so people didn’t go just on what they saw printed if they did want to know more, or know what the person has done recently – or at least link to their IGDA profile so you could see what forum posts they have, or personal sites linked from there. Most odd 🙂

    I can only say “Good luck”! but since luck is what you make of circumstance and chance, and that luck doesn’t really exist, except in games where you get “luck skill”, we’ll give the benefit of the doubt to the statement and hope it means you get a board place 😀

  2. February 4, 2008 6:20 pm

    Damn, girl. I’m thinking about renewing my membership just so that I can vote for you 🙂

  3. February 4, 2008 6:32 pm

    Sounds great. I’m sure you’ll do very well. Good luck!

  4. February 4, 2008 8:20 pm

    You will be good for the IGDA. I voted for you 🙂

  5. Patrick permalink
    February 4, 2008 9:01 pm

    I voted for you.

  6. February 4, 2008 9:02 pm

    @Eric – Dude, join! 🙂

    @Andrew – Interesting point. Yes, I would add that. I’m fairly transparent with all things professional, so I can’t imagine I’d be much different.

    @Yusuf, Patrick and David – Wow! Thank you. Much appreciated.

  7. February 5, 2008 1:47 pm

    If only I could afford the membership – you’d have my vote in a heartbeat. (Just spent my last dime on a plane ticket and business cards for GDC)

  8. February 7, 2008 7:32 pm

    Well, you’ve put me through far more thought than voting for our next President. At first, I was gung-ho, certain that you’d be the best candidate by far.

    …Then I realized that I had no idea who you were up against, and my previous mentality simply made it a popularity contest, which is the LAST thing the games industry needs more of, ESPECIALLY the (somewhat sacred) IGDA. Therefore, I grabbed a coffee, sat down, and read every statement from every candidate. To be honest, I had to put a lot of thought into this, even with all the respect you’ve garnished from me.

    In the long run, my vote doesn’t count for a whole lot, but I’m certain that voting for you was in fact the right choice, in the end. Congratulations, I can say with utter certainty that you’ve earned one well-informed vote. I hope our other IGDA members are willing to put the same amount of thought into this, and I hope you win because of that (not because more people read your blog).

  9. February 7, 2008 7:52 pm

    Thanks, Jesse. I totally agree with you about reading all the other people’s statements. I got to vote, too, and did the exact same thing.

  10. February 8, 2008 11:01 pm

    @Schoon: umm… an IGDA membership gives you $50 off GDC, and it costs you $48 to join as a full member. You’re unable to afford being paid $2?

    I guess this is something the IGDA needs to advertise more…

Leave a Reply

