Skip to content

Whew – That’s Half Over

February 1, 2008

I finished half of my GDC Game Design Challenge presentation today, which is exactly how far I hoped I’d get. The design is done, but now I have to a) explain it and b) make it look like something more than this:

gdcgdc.jpg

The process, which took place at Montgomery Hall (Monty) where I work, was witnessed by a whole lot of students who took the opportunity to ask me about my design process, something they don’t see as often as you might think. Usually, I work in my office at home so I can have long stretches of uninterrupted time, and when I’m at Monty, I’m focused on their designs.

Some interesting and weird things came out of this:

  • Interesting: I like ideas to sit still for a while before I go back to them. Over the years, I’ve discovered that running off into the sunset with an idea that you’ve just met can lead to buyer’s remorse. I like to think about it before I commit.
  • Weird: Someone noticed that when I’m really into something, I close my eyes and type. I like to just shut out all external stuff, and apparently this even includes the very words I’m typing.

Anyway, feels good to have half of the presentation done. I’ll finish up the rest of it this week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jacksonaces permalink
    February 1, 2008 10:35 pm

    Two words: Disco Ball

    There has to be at least one in there, even if no one will get it but the students who are at GDC.

  2. February 2, 2008 8:37 am

    I’ll think about it. For those of you wondering what the bizarre reference to the disco ball is all about, it’s a rather silly story. See, game mechanics and game theory doesn’t always lend itself to the best images, and I don’t like to create lectures that are just a wall of powerpoint text.

    So, for no particular reason, I just grabbed an image of a disco ball and stuck it in one slide. This struck me as funny, and anytime I needed an image for a slide where another image wasn’t an obvious contender, out would come yet another disco ball. Eventually, the students started getting into it, putting disco balls into their presentation. We’re all a little out of control at this point. Now anything covered in mirror squares is fair game, and you seriously wouldn’t believe the stuff people cover in mirror squares.

    Like this:

    or this (be sure to scroll down for the big finale):

    http://www.custommosaicart.com/2.html

    or this:

Leave a Reply

