Skip to content

Elder Game: MMO Game Designer Lifecycle

January 31, 2008

A fellow industry designer pointed me toward this article: The Stages of Designerhood.

It’s funny, it’s true, and it probably doesn’t just apply to MMO designers. I’d add one extra part in there that’s related to the Zen Master, but not in the active industry: The Designer at Play. It’s the most magical spot of all game design spots in my opinion. I might think differently in a few years, but right now, I am having a wonderful time working on numerous projects, exploring different design concepts just because I can and studying things that I felt I never had the time to study as I hurled on toward the next milestone. There is a trade off here, of course. I am not a lead, I’m not on a big team, and I’m not in the trenches. Absolutely, I miss that. There’s no way I could not.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 1, 2008 12:15 pm

    Brenda! I had no idea you had a blog. This goes on the Reader immediately. Oh, and thanks for checking us out. :>

    The Designer at Play sounds a lot like where Eric and I are right now, actually. It’s a breathing space that allows us to organize the thoughts that accumulated over several fast-paced years on live teams and put concepts together in new ways we didn’t have time to consider before. But we do both miss our teams terribly.

Leave a Reply

