Skip to content

Which Console Should I Buy?

January 18, 2008

Dave Taylor sent me this helpful flowchart. Click to see it in a larger window.

console-chart.jpg

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2008 11:40 am

    The Console gamer in me wants to protest, but the PC gamer in me is cackling wildy.

    Its not that consoles don’t have games.. its just that PC’s have far MORE games. And a wealth of independent games that will not be found on consoles.
    Consoles are better for party games though.

  2. January 18, 2008 12:38 pm

    Hmm, IMO, before going straight to “Buy a PC”, there should be another question:

    “Do you like cashing out serious bucks, fiddling with fragile boards or cards, dealing with numerous compatibility issue, possibly calling India, configuring multitude of configurations of configurations, cashing out yet again for keeping up-to-date every two years or so, and enjoying bleeding-edge technology showcase?”

    If it’s a resounding YES, then it’s “Buy a PC”. If not, seriously, go for either PS3/Xbox360.

    And I need one, too. Seriously.

    (I guess it can also be replaced with “Do you like RTS games as well as other genre?” then go for PC πŸ™‚

  3. danwilkins permalink
    January 18, 2008 2:25 pm

    I think it’s almost necessary to have both a reasonably beefy gaming PC as well as a current gen console, if not all if you can get your hands on the money.

    There are just so many different things awarded between the two. Unfortunately, within the console spectrum theres also many different things to be offered that are different between all of them. I find it funny that some big name developers are taking flak from gamers themselves as well as corps about wanting a single console generation.

    Personally, I went with a 360, and MIGHT pick up a PS3 if I have the money. I’ve always had a formidable PC, and I love multiplayer so the 360 was the way to go. For some reason the Wii had appeal, but I always lost interest quickly with all of it’s games.

  4. James Caskey permalink
    January 18, 2008 3:45 pm

    Last year most of the bestselling and GOTY-nominated games were multiplatform (Orange Box, Call of Duty 4, BioShock) some were on consoles only (like Assassin’s Creed, Rock Band and Guitar Hero) and some were 360 exclusive (Halo 3 and Forza 2).

    The biggest releases on PC were Crysis and World in Conflict. The latter of which I thought was lackluster, especially when compared to Company of Heroes which had many similar elements.

    So really, if you like games you should get a 360, because most of the games worth playing will be available for it.

    But good point about indie games, the PC is miles ahead in that respect. Microsoft’s XNA studio is attempting to close the gap, but they have a long way to go.

  5. January 19, 2008 7:13 am

    Haha, this made me chuckle πŸ™‚

    I’m a huge PC gamer, since I lack money to own a PC plus any console with a reasonable amount of games (I’m also in the UK, prime location to not buy anything electronic, urg).

    I do miss not being able to try Assassins Creed (not heard great things, but I want to play it a bit) until it’s released on PC, and I’d not mind having Rock Band/Guitar Hero on my widescreen monitor.

    And I’d love to see the Portables version, likely with a DS, PSP and “Phone Games” options, hehe.

  6. January 19, 2008 11:24 pm

    Hehehe, very nice πŸ™‚ There should be another checkpoint that asks “Do you have any money?” that would route you to something like “Buy a DS.”

  7. ThomasJLKastner permalink
    January 24, 2008 7:11 am

    It is funny that the chart is made this way. Everyone who I know which owns a PS3 and a 360 actually plays the PS3 more online because its free and pretty much offers the same service.

    Still unfortunately there are little games available for it. A lack of games will kill any system, but why should you have to pay for x-box live? It really doesn’t offer the consumer that much besides the illusion that somehow the investment increases the quality of their online experience. It is simply not the case. PS3’s online mode is just as effective as the 360 but the difference is that the Sony doesn’t make you pay.

    I’d say if you like games buy a Wii, PSP, DS or PC. If you like pretty graphics or games that are more of a movie than a game then go for the 360 or PS3. Take your pick there isn’t a HUGE difference between the two unless you talk to one of their fanboys.

    I’m a PC fanboy. I can play games on my machine and work on it. It just seems like a great deal to me and my machine is unique to any other machine because I built and maintain it. I refuse to buy a “next gen” console, I just feel like I’m being ripped off. I’m either buying a machine that you’d be foolish to expect to work for a long period of time or a machine that doesn’t really have a great game library. Both of these qualities drive me in the complete other direction.

    That being said I don’t think that the Wii is “next gen” just because of how different it is. You really can’t compare it to the 360 or the PS3. Maybe it is the “alt gen” or something of that nature but really Nintendo went off in their own direction. It seems like the little thing is very solid and I never hear complaints about it’s reliability. Plenty of games and no red rings. I personally don’t feel motivated to play most of the games which has prevented me from purchasing one but really If I were to purchase a console it would be the Wii.

    Frank Zappa Talks about the decline of the Music Industry.

    Listen to what Frank has to say at the beginning of this video and tell me it doesn’t remind you of what Nintendo has been doing. Nintendo takes chances and takes risks. Microsoft and PS3 just beefed up their hardware basically, which isn’t incredibly risky or interesting.

    I am also a huge fan of the DS and PSP. I don’t really think the two are very comparable, again this is due to Nintendo going in their own direction. Both are excellent machines, durable and reliable. Since I’m usually on the go I’ll bring a handheld with me so whenever I take a quick break I’ll be able to play games. PSP can do a lot more than play games, but its primary function is still playing games. DS can only play games unless you really go out of your way to make it do something different. But thats fine because their games are solid and the dual screen system works very well. DS tends to win in terms of mutliplayer while PSP is excellent for previous generation single player games. It does have multiplayer but for whatever reason developers don’t use infrastructure too much and when they do they tend to shut their servers down. I really wish they would remove infrastructure mode from the box when they decide to disable it. Its false advertisement, dirty and unprofessional business practice.

    Whatever anyone tells you to get, take a look at the games you want to play. Write them all down and then see which system offers you the most. Its also a good idea to play with a system before you buy it, just to see if you really want it or not.

  8. January 24, 2008 9:30 am

    @Thomas:
    Good point about looking at the games you want to play. I had a friend who would only buy a console when the cost of games she wanted to buy exceeded twice the cost of the console itself.

    As for the bit about having to pay for Xbox Live but not PS3 Online… I’d say that given the extra cost of the PS3 console itself, you’re certainly paying for it, just not on a subscription basis πŸ™‚

  9. ThomasJLKastner permalink
    January 24, 2008 1:27 pm

    Ian –

    Yes, assuming you get the 12-month deal thats 60 dollars a year(with some extra games and such). 180 for a three year period isn’t anywhere near the amount for games such as WoW which will be running you 180 in a single year, with not extra games or anything.

    So I do agree with you, but it still tends to put the 360 and the PS3 on the same level of interest for me. Honestly I’d rather just take a ride to the LAN Sharks(local gaming cafe) instead of investing in the machines to use at home. I’m not trying to say the systems are useless because there are some great games on them(obviously more for the 360). Just an issue as if I want to upgrade my computer, invest in a console or take a trip to GDC or something.

    Buying a console when the cost of games you want to buy exceeds twice the cost of the console itself is an excellent idea. I haven’t heard of this yet but I think it would solve a lot of problems some consumers face. It would have definitely prevented what happened with me in terms of the Sega Dreamcast. Though I love playing ROMs with it now, if I would have waited until I wanted to buy that many games I would have probably not invested in it. Which is good and bad. Good because I don’t really have any good Dreamcast games to play now and bad because I wouldn’t have a cool machine that plays roms in my living room.

Trackbacks

  1. danbruno.net · Which console should I buy?

Leave a Reply

