Skip to content

Changing the Look…

January 10, 2008

I’ll be screwing around with the look of the blog in the next few days, and if you’re a fairly regular reader, I’d appreciate your thoughts. I’ll keep the basic layout the same, but want to mix the colors and design up some. FWIW, Irish history is another passion of mine, hence the Celtic cross.

Like it? Hate it? Indifferent?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2008 8:28 pm

    For me, mostly indifferent… I’m here for the content, not the aesthetics.

    I would make an effort to keep the top banner small. Right now it’s taking up like a third of my screen. It’s pretty, but it also forces me to scroll down to get to the posts…

  2. January 10, 2008 8:33 pm

    Indifferent. It’s not bad, it’s just impersonal. One of the things I like about your blog (beside the content, of course) is a personality and person to attach the content to.

    Signed,
    My $0.02

  3. January 10, 2008 8:35 pm

    My resolution is 1280×1024. Curious what others use for a setting.

  4. January 10, 2008 8:37 pm

    @michael – that’s interesting. What did I have on the other one that did that? I can try to replicate that in my new set up.

  5. January 10, 2008 8:57 pm

    I’m indifferent, I read all my RSS feeds in Google Reader so everything looks the same:)

  6. January 10, 2008 11:16 pm

    I read your blog through a feed reader so I only see your site design when I click through to make a comment. I have to agree with Ian–it does take up far too much space for me, though I’m running at 1280×800 on my laptop.

  7. January 11, 2008 1:10 am

    I’d change the color of your name (under the title of the blog). It’s difficult to read.

    This one looks like a standard WordPress blog a lot more than your last one, which you can take that as good or bad. I’m still more partial to your last design, for what it’s worth.

    This page might be of some interest: http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2008/01/08/100-excellent-free-high-quality-wordpress-themes/

  8. January 11, 2008 5:05 am

    Please change the favourites icon from the default wordpress one! Actually I’m not sure if wordpress.com would let you do that, but it’s really odd to have their logo for your website.

  9. January 12, 2008 6:22 pm

    I have two suggestions, assuming you have complete access to modify your CSS. Please please please make it span horizontally. Most modern computer screens are widescreen, meaning that there’s all kinds of unused space on the sides of your content. You may as well use the entire screen! Basically, all you need is to change “768px” to “100%” and converting all the other width values to percentages.

    I’d also change the header image to something that really applies to the idea of the blog. Maybe have an image of a huge pile of game design docs, binders, board games, or possibly a stack of classic video games.

    My laptop (and many other widescreen laptops) maxes out at 1280×800 for max resolution. There are still people using 800×600 and 1024×768 as well, and the new asus eee (which I use for standard internet stuff, like checking blogs) maxes out at 800×480. That may be a consideration, as smaller devices are becoming more and more popular for browsing the web. I’m pretty sure there’s a wordpress plugin that automatically generates a “mobile” version of the page. I don’t remember the name of the plugin, but if I find it I’ll be sure to let you know.

Leave a Reply

