Skip to content

Happiness & Terror: I’m going to be in the Game Design Challenge at GDC

January 3, 2008

I get this email:

Hi Brenda!

Would you be interested in participating in this year’s Game Design Challenge? Alexey Pajitnov, as last year’s champ, is returning and I need to invite the other two…

We’re talking the GDC Game Design Challenge 2008. Visualize me sitting there and reading the email about 10 times before I even react. That I’d just spent the day at Firaxis (home of Sid Meier, the uber-designer) made the moment all the more Twilight Zone-esque. Will Shigeru call for dinner?

This is the closest I’ve ever come to experiencing every emotion simultaneously. Stark terror is the present reigning emotion, but it will pass.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2008 12:19 am

    Haha! Stark terror? Nah, don’t worry — rock the competition. Good luck! 😉

  2. January 4, 2008 12:52 am

    Rock on, girl!

  3. January 4, 2008 7:03 am

    Really good news! Congratulations, and good luck! 🙂

  4. January 4, 2008 11:54 am

    WHA?! That’s awesome!

  5. January 4, 2008 12:46 pm

    How very exciting and frightening at the same time! Perhaps frightciting? I’d love to attend the session, as I’m sure you’ll come up with something brilliant.

  6. January 4, 2008 2:57 pm

    That is absolutely awesome.
    If Shigeru calls you for dinner, I won’t be surprised. Only more enthused.

  7. January 4, 2008 7:13 pm

    I think I can safely assume that will never happen.

  8. January 4, 2008 7:46 pm

    Kick some ass, Brenda! 😀

  9. James Ferris permalink
    January 8, 2008 8:59 am

    Having seen your abilities first-hand, I have faith.
    Go get ’em!

  10. January 8, 2008 1:42 pm

    James! Hey, it’s great to hear from you again.

Leave a Reply

