Skip to content

The Post New Year Plans

January 2, 2008

I’ve arrived in Maryland and lost at least 40 degrees on the way north. It’s shockingly cold up here (when you’re from Georgia, it doesn’t take much for something to be shockingly cold).

This morning, I’m off to Firaxis, home to one of the world’s best game designers, Sid Meier. To say that I’m a happy about this would be an understatement.

In other news, I’m currently studying how games propagate themselves throughout the facebook community, the mechanics developers use to do this as well as player actions that occur outside of the game to cause the number of players to grow. It’s an interesting thing to study, though it does cause me to install all manner of Facebook apps. My apologies to those on my friends list. You can expect a large post on it in a week or two once I’ve completed it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2008 9:13 am

    I’m actually very interested in this. I avoid the facebook/myspace sections of the web like a plague, as they only seem to fill a job that email accomplishes in a quarter of the time. I’m sure I’m missing something here, and quite all right with that.

    However, if it proves to be efficient at something that matters to me like viral advertising (which is where one person tells another, who tells another, and costs the developer nothing) I’d dive in headlong.

    Just as an aside, I definitely feel for you on the cold front. It’s currently 0 degrees fahrenheit, minus a 20 degree wind chill. We have two feet of snow on the ground (from the past week) and I have a lot of shoveling to do just to get to see my car again.

  2. January 3, 2008 10:41 am

    “However, if it proves to be efficient at something that matters to me like viral advertising (which is where one person tells another, who tells another, and costs the developer nothing) I’d dive in headlong.”

    Dive.

    Face book is excellent at this. It’s what I am studying right now… though those plans will not progress as quickly as I’d like them to due to another massive project on the horizon. I do expect to have at least one post up before the end of the weekend, tho.

Leave a Reply

