Skip to content

Supporting Passage (and games like it)

December 22, 2007

Tonight, I spent money on something I believe in – independent game development. You should do it, too. I’ll even give you the link: Support the guy who made Passage. Click it and give the dude a few bucks.

I literally stumbled upon this while looking for his Creator’s Statement for a book I’m currently writing. At the very bottom of the list, I find it – “Donations.” I also read that he’s located in Potsdam, NY, not exactly a hotbed of game development, but in the very same county where I got my start 26 years ago. In fact, I grew up 30 miles down the road.

Please, support independent game development.

I buy a lot of indie games, and recommend that you do, too. (Someday, you may be one of those developers yourself.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2007 7:39 pm

    “Please, support independent game development.”

    Yes, please do. Indies are highly motivated, talented, ambitious and ask for nothing but for people just to play their games, let alone donate. Donating can be a great way to just show a special piece of appreciation for their time, persistence, and hard work. It also helps independent game development to grow to be something special among the big dog AAA developers.

    It’ll be pretty interesting to see what independent game development will be like in the future. Keep supporting our indies today, to help build a much more interesting indie development world in the future.

  2. July 29, 2008 3:03 pm

    Hi Brenda. Have you played Jason’s latest game, Gravitation? I searched for it on your blog but couldn’t find anything. So I guess you haven’t seen it, thus here goes the link: http://hcsoftware.sourceforge.net/gravitation/

  3. December 24, 2008 2:46 pm

    Alvaro: actually, his latest work is Between: http://www.esquire.com/features/best-and-brightest-2008/rohrer-game

    But yes, Gravitation is awesome.

  4. December 28, 2008 1:30 pm

    I donated some after first playing Passage, and recently again after finally getting around to playing Gravitation.

    I’ve paid much more for games that moved me far less, so it only seemed appropriate.

Trackbacks

  1. Passage Now on iTunes for iPhone - Your 99 cent Christmas Present « Applied Game Design

Leave a Reply

