Skip to content

Game Industry Acronyms #1

December 18, 2007

The first batch of 10: People & Groups

  • EP – Executive Producer
  • AP – Associate Producer
  • DD – Design Director (sometimes the Design Doc, tho)
  • VC – Venture Capital
  • CTO – Chief Technical Officer
  • IGDA – International Game Developers Association (for developers)
  • ESA – Entertainment Software Association (for publishers)
  • EMA – Entertainment Merchants Association (for retailers)
  • ECA – Entertainment Consumers Association (for gamers)
  • ESRB– Entertainment Software Rating Board
5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2007 11:33 am

    Don’t forget the IGJA.

  2. December 18, 2007 12:21 pm

    I’ve heard the Design Doc referred to as the Game Design Doc (GDD) as well, so there’s something else to keep in mind.

  3. December 18, 2007 1:08 pm

    I was taught to refer to the Design Doc as GDD, actually.

    And there’s an acronym that I’ve stumbled upon several times which I couldn’t find any explanation about it: IP. I might be wrong but I understood that it refers to a particular game title. If it isn’t planned to be on the others acronym lists, could you add it? 🙂

  4. December 18, 2007 2:22 pm

    I assumed from the “#1” that this will be the first of many.

    I’ve actually never seen the acronym “DD” in use before. In fact, most of the time I’ve heard the game-design-oriented directory-type person referred to as “Creative Director”. I suppose the acronym “CD” was already taken by those shiny discs…

    Strangely, I’ve seen the acronym GDD (and its companion, the TDD – technical design doc) only mentioned in textbooks but never in the actual industry. Maybe it’s in less common use nowadays, with agile development gaining popularity and 500-page design bibles becoming more rare?

    Yes, “IP” is a great acronym to add. I hear it used in conversation all the time. I’m also surprised no one’s mentioned “GDC”…

  5. December 18, 2007 3:31 pm

    If you guys keep going and I’ll have no need for a #2. 🙂

Leave a Reply

