Skip to content

Save me from Jetman

December 10, 2007

Jetman is a Facebook application, and it’s sucking up my time. Witness:

Jetman

Move right on past the graphics, and go play it. It has shamefully simple controls. Press the spacebar to propel yourself forward and up. Lay off the spacebar to drop down. Touch anything, and you’re dead. I was just curious why a fellow game designer had added it to his apps, so decided to try it out. I discovered why from 11 pm until 12:30 am last night.

I still have about 10 active games of Scrabulous going on, and both Blokus and Ghosts! have arrived, so Jetman’s intrusion is both welcome and unfortunate all at the same time.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2007 11:59 am

    I look forward to more Facebook game applications that take advantage of the site’s social side. The “play by mail” style of Scrabulous seems like the best game-implementation in Facebook so far. Facebook seems like it was built for casual, back-and-forth turn-based gameplay.

  2. December 10, 2007 7:03 pm

    Scott has a good point. Given the social nature, it seems like it’d be a perfect place for play-by-mail Diplomacy…

  3. December 10, 2007 8:41 pm

    Scott,

    I agree with you. The unfortunate thing about Jetman, and where Scrabulous definitely excels, is in the social nature of play. I just received my first challenge from a friend of mine. I was interrupted while starting the game, crashed, and that was that. I think my sum total points were 100, tops. The game doesn’t allow a “best of x” to determine your final score. That would have made for a better experience, I think.

    I was gong through some old games of mine recently and found the old email version of XCom. There was a brief time when these games were popular, and I think their play structure could be adapted to facebook.

  4. fanciest45 permalink
    December 11, 2007 1:14 am

    this is unrelated, but i was just reading ign.com’s top 10 most influential games, and guess what was a runner up? wizardry. congratulations.

  5. December 11, 2007 2:00 am

    If I could get a good game of Scrabulous going, I’d really like that application, but it hasn’t been very friendly to the girlfriend and I.

    Poor Jetman and the 100, give or take a few, concussions I just gave him for a measly score of 1595. True warrior, though. Kudos for that! 😉

  6. December 11, 2007 8:00 am

    Fanciest45 – I hadn’t seen that article. Thank you so much for pointing it out. What a great way to start the day.

    David – I think they just did a big server update with Scrabulous. It’s much faster lately and less prone to “try again later.”

  7. December 13, 2007 4:11 pm

    Did you really mean 11:30pm to 12:30 PM? or did you mean 11:30pm to 12:30 AM?

    If you meant the first, I’ll definitely check it out. If you meant the later, I’ll still check it out. Just to see what it is.

  8. December 13, 2007 4:29 pm

    I meant 11 pm to 12:30 am! Thanks for the correction, Peter. Jetman’s fun, but it isn’t *that* fun.

Leave a Reply

