Skip to content

Keeping up with the industry

November 28, 2007

Thank goodness for NetVibes.com. I’ve now got my “keeping up with the industry” time down to roughly an hour or so every morning. Much of the important happenings and insights in our industry occur not on major news sites like CNN.com or whatever, but on the blogs of fellow game developers who report on stuff months ahead of the major media (seriously).

If you haven’t checked out NetVibes, please do. Basically, it’s just a convenient, customizable feedreader.

NetVibes.com

Here’s a sample from this morning’s Escapist feed. On a single screen, I have a dozen or more of these little boxes. I’ve got a couple screens of these tracking all the blogs on my blog roll as well as sites like the Escapist and Gamasutra.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Miguel permalink
    November 28, 2007 3:40 pm

    Thank God for NetVibes. Using it a little under a year, I wonder how did I manage without it. I added this blog to my “GameDev” tab.

    Any chance of sharing some of your tabs? Would be great to see what your reading and to see if I’m missing something.

  2. November 28, 2007 9:52 pm

    I personally use the igoogle home page, and it organizes both my feeds and the very few gadgets that I use, in tabs, just like netvibes. Having used both, they’re almost identical but igoogle lets me get to my web email directly, along with google docs and all the other good stuff that I use google for. I used netvibes for about 2 months before going feet-first into the google webverse. If you haven’t tried it already, I heartily suggest it.

  3. aortiz permalink
    November 29, 2007 1:08 am

    I was relying on iGoogle up to now, too… but seeing NetVibes, I’m suddenly excited. The irritating part about iGoogle is that everything takes up too much space, and I have a bunch of Gadgets on there I use that I like to see when my home page comes up. I’d rather have a separate page for feeds where I don’t have to scroll, and NetVibes fits that purpose. Now I don’t have to visit websites individually anymore! 😀

Leave a Reply

