Skip to content

The design blog I should have started long ago…

November 1, 2007

Over the last few years, I’ve been busy working on another NSFW blog, one that focuses on specific subset of content in video games and the adult development community in general. I even wrote a book on the subject. True to game designer form, I became deeply interested in a particular topic and exhausted it with the production of a game or, in this case, a book.

For all the google hits the topic has brought me, it’s not changed my primary interest in the field of game design. Through it all, I’ve remained a steadfast RPG and system designer with a bit of content design thrown in for good measure. I am completely fascinated with the way that games work, the patterns inside them, how they affect people in positive ways, and the unpredictability and emergence found within an interactive design. Entering academia in 2006 has allowed me to spend a ridiculous amount of time reading books and studying games, way more than I ever had as a practicing lead burning through 60+ hours a week. I’m still doing contract work, though, and have been able to be a part of five projects since that time. I’ve even started work on a completely non-commercial text adventure game just cause I can and I feel like it. That’s one of the weirder luxuries afforded to game developers in academia. (I’m still doing work on a commercial title right now, so I haven’t gone completely off the retro deep end.)

On that note, this is the design blog I should have started a long time ago. It’s been 26 years in the industry now, so I have no excuse for not doing it sooner.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

